Skip to content

Happy Birthday! To Me!

June 22, 2010

Happy Birthday! To Me!

Today I turned twenty-six years old. Wow. Just got through talking to my dad about how I’m no longer in the early twenties. If someone needs to describe me they will say, “He is in his mid to late twenties”. This sure has been a well traveled road. A lot of ups and downs, curves and dead ends along the way. Several times I thought I hit rock bottom only to have someone reach out and help me back up. Reminds me of a quote, “Rock bottom is good solid ground, and a dead end street is just a place to turn around”. Not sure where I read that at. After all that has happened I realize that I truly am a lucky man. I’ll say the luckiest man I know. I have a wonderful and beautiful wife that treats me like a king and my son is amazing. I don’t have to words to express the love I have for my son. Having Nathan is something that I’m truly thankful for. Thankful that God allowed me to have this gift from him to raise and teach him right from wrong. But I had a very good example while growing up so I think I’ll do fine. My parents are the greatest parents anyone could ever ask for. During some of my hardest times, those times I thought I had nothing, I always had my parents. Whether I knew it or not at the time. The times where I needed someone to just listen and understand, they were there to do just that, not judge and tell me how I should live my life. If it wasn’t for my parents I don’t think I would be here today. Thank you mom and dad. I love you both so much. Mom and dad had to learn patience early I guess. Having four kids will force patience on someone. Especially having me, my brother and my sisters. Still I believe that I could call either one of them anytime of day or night and they would have my back and help in anyway needed, just as I would do the same for them. I was blessed with the greatest siblings ever. Others that influenced me during my life would have to be my grandparents. My grandma, papa and mamaw. I’m at a loss of words. How do you describe someone that is held up higher than anyone else you know. This is where these three would be. From Sunday school teacher to philosopher of life to someone to sit and talk with, these three greatest grandparents in the world have done it all. I truly owe so much to them. No one can touch them, even come close. I love and admire each of them. Of course my whole family should also be mentioned here. My aunts, uncles and cousins have been there for me my whole life. My cousins are like my best friends. Then there is the family that I “inherited”. My in-laws. You hear people all the time talking about my mother-in-law this my father-in-law that, complaining about them. Well my situation is completely different. I am so blessed to have married into such a wonderful, loving and caring family. I’m lucky to have another set of parents and grandparents on that side of the family. The past several years I have met some of the best friends a guy could ask for. Some of these are the people I work with. I don’t consider these people my co-workers, they are friends. Friends that have been there for me every step of the way. Again I’m lucky to have such good friends. To the ones that have already gone, you are truly missed everyday. It’s amazing the impact someone can have on your life even when they are no longer here. My uncle William taught me a lot about life, morals and respect for others. Even as a young child I would love to sit and listen to him talk about how we should treat others the way we wanted to be treated. My cousin Brent and good friend Eric, it is amazing how many lives these two touched. They both brought so much good out of the ones they were around. I can’t wait to see you all again. There are countless others but this would go on forever (even longer than it is now) if I continued to tell you about all the people that have influenced me and taught me something along the way. To sum it all up, I’m a lucky man. Twenty-six years and counting as the luckiest man alive. I hope I didn’t bore you too much but I guess we all have things that are important to us. And hey, I only used around 800 words!

Thanks for reading,
The Luckiest Man Alive

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Mom permalink

    You’re an amazing son! I’m so very proud to be your mother. You have brought joy to me and made me proud all your life. You were born with a compassion for others that has never ceased and you give so much of yourself for others. I love you very much and hope you have a wonderful birthday! Mom

Leave a Reply

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

4 little Fergusons

Faith, Family, Food, Photos & Fun

The Search of Kings

...it is the honor of kings to search out a matter. (Prov. 25:2)

GodlyDating101

Chivalry. Modesty. Purity

zachterry.wordpress.com/

Zach Terry Ministries

Nathanisms

The wisdoms of a 3 year old

Around The Clubhouse

Daily Dose of Sports Happenings

Road Rage with A&A Blog

A Little Place For Some Internet Traffic Road Rage

Joe's Place

Hands down, the coolest place on the internet

