Skip to content

Matthew 18:3 “….Except ye be converted, and become as little children, ye shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven.”

February 19, 2013

image

So I’m a happy husband/daddy, and figured I’d share with all three of my followers (ha). This past Sunday we were at church for my wife’s baptism. I was very proud of her; still am. She took the stage at our pastor’s request and read her very own testimony. She told of her background, what brought her here, and how happy she is now that she has made this decision. This was a very exciting time for me, and a very happy and proud moment. But what happened next is what caught me by surprise. Sure we were here celebrating another name that God would call home. We had a multitude of family and friends to come by for this occasion. But the biggest surprise of the night happened after the baptism. After everyone was starting to calm down from all the “new convert, baptism” excitement.

Earlier in the service my son had acquired two shiny nickels from somewhere (more than likely grandpa). Apparently between the Sunday School lesson and the Sunday Morning Service he had lost one of the shiny, irreplaceable, million dollar nickels. He was heart broken. If you have a toddler, then you know how everything can be a heartbreaker. Especially right before nap time. Well Nathan, my son, was so upset that he lost his nickel that he was teary eyed and on the verge of a melt down. I somehow changed the subject to who knows what, and it worked. Who knows how it worked, but who cares, it worked (ha).

So after he had forgotten about his nickel he sat with me the rest of the service and enjoyed the singing, clapping, and music. Next up is the offering. Little Nathan turned to me saying, “Daddy! I need an offering!” Me, checking my pockets, felt pretty low when I realized I had brought no cash for him to put in the offering plate. He looks up and says, “It’s ok daddy; I have offering” and showed me his last prized nickel. I asked him if he really wanted to give his last nickel, and there was no hesitation as this little, almost four year old squeezed past me in the pew and headed for the front of the church to give his gift to God. While he was walking back, with that huge excited smile on his face, it hit me what he had just done. This toddler gave his last nickel to God instead of trying to buy a new batman toy or the latest hotwheels car. He gave his last, and I hadn’t even made the effort to bring anything. Lesson learned.

2 Corinthians 9:7 Every man according as he purposeth in his heart, so let him give; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful giver.

Proverbs 22:6 Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.

Mark 10:13-16 And they brought young children to him, that he should touch them: and his disciples rebuked those that brought them. But when Jesus saw it, he was much displeased, and said unto them, Suffer the little children to come unto me, and forbid them not: for of such is the kingdom of God. Verily I say unto you, Whosoever shall not receive the kingdom of God as a little child, he shall not enter therein. And he took them up in his arms, put his hands upon them, and blessed them.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Betty Day permalink

    Oh my! Trying not to cry (at my desk at work)! This is the most wonderfully, touching story I’ve read in a very long time! Adam, Nathan is just like you were when you were little! Thank you for sharing this, it has truly made my day! 🙂

    • Well like I posted “Proverbs 22:6 Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”, glad we were raised right to pass it along.

  2. I got teary watching him do it! And I didn’t even know he had given his own precious nickles! I thought you had given him some change! Now I’m really teary!! LOVE that boy!

    • Yep. That’s why I was so shocked, his last nickel. That could have been a batman toy! ha

Leave a Reply

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

4 little Fergusons

Faith, Family, Food, Photos & Fun

The Search of Kings

...it is the honor of kings to search out a matter. (Prov. 25:2)

GodlyDating101

Chivalry. Modesty. Purity

zachterry.wordpress.com/

Zach Terry Ministries

Nathanisms

The wisdoms of a 3 year old

Around The Clubhouse

Daily Dose of Sports Happenings

Road Rage with A&A Blog

A Little Place For Some Internet Traffic Road Rage

Joe's Place

Hands down, the coolest place on the internet

