Skip to content

“Why I Don’t Believe In Grace”

February 23, 2013

So in my search of ‘positiveness’ over the past few weeks I began reading a book by Jon Acuff, “Quitter”, that was recommended by my brother. This is such a great book and didn’t take me long to finish it. Anyways, I enjoyed his book so much that I went and started following his blog, Stuff Christians Like (I highly recommend you follow as well).

Well, while reading his blog I came across something he wrote that hit pretty hard. His blog titled “Why I Don’t Believe In Grace” is nothing short of amazing. He tells us how grace is offensive. We say how much we need grace, how much so-and-so needs grace and thank God for grace. But, just when someone actually gets that grace, is when we start to ask why they were given grace. “Don’t you remember what they did? How can they be forgiven and given grace?” Well the bible does say in Hebrews 8:12 “For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness, and their sins and their iniquities will I remember no more.”

Sometimes we (myself) need to remember that this same grace that forgave us, strengthened us and sanctified us, this same grace that saved us, can also save “them”.

Thank you to Jon Acuff for opening my eyes and showing me this. I really hope you will go click on the link (“Why I Don’t Believe In Grace”) and check out his blog. It really is an amazing read.

“Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me….
I once was lost but now am found,
Was blind, but now, I see.”

Ephesians 4:32 And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.

If you want to purchase “Quitter” by Jon Acuff you can buy it online from the Dave Ramsey webpage.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

4 little Fergusons

Faith, Family, Food, Photos & Fun

The Search of Kings

...it is the honor of kings to search out a matter. (Prov. 25:2)

GodlyDating101

Chivalry. Modesty. Purity

zachterry.wordpress.com/

Zach Terry Ministries

Nathanisms

The wisdoms of a 3 year old

Around The Clubhouse

Daily Dose of Sports Happenings

Road Rage with A&A Blog

A Little Place For Some Internet Traffic Road Rage

Joe's Place

Hands down, the coolest place on the internet

