Skip to content

Never Forget The Stars

February 27, 2013

stars

Psalm 147:4
He telleth the number of the stars; he calleth them all by their names.

Every night that I get home from work I stop and stare at the sky.  Every single night I do this.  It has become a ritual.  See, I work 2nd shift, and when I get home the sky is dark and full of stars.  Yes, stars.  When you live in the country you can actually see these mysterious “shiny things in space”.  Quite the beautiful sight actually.  Anyhow, every night I get home, park my car, walk up our sidewalk, and stop.  I stare, soak in the night, and just lose myself in the awe of what God made.  Every night, every single night, I say, “Thank you God for the stars”.

The other night was no different.  I pulled up and parked, got out, walked up my sidewalk, took in a deep breath of fresh air and, with a smile, looked above to see “my stars” and to thank God for such a beautiful sight.  To my surprise there were no stars.  Now I know that sometimes you can’t see the stars at night. This is no shock or surprise to me. But for some reason that night I was both shocked and surprised that the stars were not out.  I just stood there and stared at the vast sky that had no stars.  Then it hit me, clouds!  The clouds are covering the sky, and I can’t see the stars.  But I wanna see the stars like I do every night.  I want that peaceful satisfaction before I lay down and go to sleep.  I want that calmness to cover me after a long and stressful night at work.  But there were no stars.

What happens when there are no stars?  What happens on that night that the smoky gray and white clouds are blocking the view of some of God’s most beautiful creations?  Well, you can do what I started doing and start to actually get a little depressed that there were no stars.  You can hang your head and wonder why the clouds had to be in front of the stars tonight.  Or, you can do like I eventually did and thank God for the clouds.  If we had no clouds, we wouldn’t appreciate the stars.  If it wasn’t for the clouds that hang over us sometimes, we wouldn’t remember and appreciate the beauty of the stars.

We have to remember to look past the clouds, look behind the clouds, and there you will find the stars.  No matter what kind of day, week, month or even year that you’ve had, please don’t ever forget the stars.  They will be back.  The Bible says that “..joy cometh in the morning”.  I don’t know how long your night has been but eventually morning will be here.  Eventually the stars will be back.  I had a long night, a very long time that the clouds were covering up my stars.  Me and my wife went through some things where it seemed like we would never see the stars again (that’s a whole new post).  But guess what.  The clouds moved.  By morning time we had joy.   And we got to see our stars.

There is something beautiful behind the clouds.  I don’t know how long your night will be, just do whatever you can do to get through it and your joy will be here.  You will see your very own stars.  See, joy cometh in the morning.  No matter what happens, God will move the clouds and you will again see the stars.  I promise.

Never forget the stars.

Psalm 30:5 For his anger endureth but a moment; in his favour is life: weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning.

Psalm 147:4 He telleth the number of the stars; he calleth them all by their names.
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

4 little Fergusons

Faith, Family, Food, Photos & Fun

The Search of Kings

...it is the honor of kings to search out a matter. (Prov. 25:2)

GodlyDating101

Chivalry. Modesty. Purity

zachterry.wordpress.com/

Zach Terry Ministries

Nathanisms

The wisdoms of a 3 year old

Around The Clubhouse

Daily Dose of Sports Happenings

Road Rage with A&A Blog

A Little Place For Some Internet Traffic Road Rage

Joe's Place

Hands down, the coolest place on the internet

